comments 0

The first ”Medal of Honor Firecracker 400”…

NASCAR has always shown its patriotic spirit, dating back to the organization’s earliest days. This past weekend at Daytona International Speedway, several Congressional Medal of Honor winners were saluted for their service to America. However, this was not the first time this race honored America’s best and bravest.

The first ”Medal of Honor Firecracker 400” took place at Daytona in 1969 with the great Lee Roy Yarbrough coming home first. At the time, the race was traditionally held on the Fourth of July. The next one, held in 1971, saw Bobby Isaac taking home the checkered flag.  The final installment occurred in 1973. This time David Pearson , the “Silver Fox” won the event.


Leave a Reply

(comments subject to approval before being made public)

Join Us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo

About The NASCAR Hall of Fame

Experience the Hall

If you’re looking for some pedal-to-the-metal fun, look no further than the NASCAR Hall of Fame. The Hall is fueled with more than 50 interactive experiences like tire-changing stations, realistic race simulators, a broadcast booth and even a Kids Zone where children can be wide open. We guarantee to get your adrenaline racing. And after you work up an appetite, grab a bite to eat at the Pit Stop Café or a souvenir to help remember it all at the NASCAR Hall of Fame Gear Shop. You’ll find it all at the Hall.