Just a test one which page this is

Page is - media

Sign me up to receive the latest and greatest from the NASCAR Hall of Fame

News Detail
All Press  >  Press Detail

Another NASCAR Hall of Fame Debate: Lee Petty Vs. Cale Yarborough

Source: NASCAR  

July 02, 2009

Continuing this week’s series of “inside scoops” for fans and media, NASCAR today revealed that Lee Petty and Cale Yarborough have made the list of nominees for the first NASCAR Hall of Fame induction class.

For each of these legendary competitors, their success came in threes.

Petty was the first driver to win three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships; Yarborough was the first driver to win the championship three consecutive years.

Petty’s titles came in 1954, ’58 and ’59; Yarborough’s triple came in 1976-78.

Those were decidedly different eras, a fact of stock-car history that likely will result in different opinions about their nominations.

Earlier this week, NASCAR provided the names of four other nominees: Bobby Allison, Richard Childress, Darrell Waltrip and Glen Wood.

Tonight, the entire 25-person list of nominees will be announced during a special SPEED presentation. From that list, five people will be chosen as the hall’s inaugural class of inductees in October. The inductees will be honored next May at the new HOF facility in Charlotte, N.C.

Editor’s note: NASCAR is providing “sneak peeks” at the inaugural list of nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame, which will be announced tonight at 8 p.m. ET on SPEED.