Sign me up to receive the latest and greatest from the NASCAR Hall of Fame

News Detail
All Press  >  Press Detail

Hall of Fame Nominees to be Unveiled on SPEED


June 29, 2009

SPEED will air an exclusive one-hour special at 8 p.m. ET Thursday from the site of the new NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C., as NASCAR unveils the 25 nominees for the inaugural class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

NASCAR Hall of Fame: The First Class
will be hosted by legendary motor sports broadcaster Ken Squier, with guest appearances from NASCAR chairman and CEO Brian France and NASCAR Hall of Fame executive director Winston Kelley.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame has announced May 11, 2010, as the official grand opening date for the state-of-the-art facility under construction in Charlotte.

To date, the NASCAR Hall of Fame has announced two major artifacts for display in the Hall -- the Plymouth Belvedere that Richard Petty drove to 27 wins in 1967, and an epic collection of NASCAR awards and memorabilia donated by Raymond Parks, including the first NASCAR trophy ever awarded a team.

The hall's inaugural class, consisting of five members, is scheduled to be enshrined in May 2010. That class will be selected by the Voting Panel from a list of 25 candidates assembled by a 21-person Nominating Committee.

The Voting Panel will consist of the members of the Nominating Committee and 29 others from throughout the NASCAR industry. There also will be one more ballot, decided by a nationwide fan vote, for a total of 51 Voting Panel ballots.

Members of the Nominating Committee represent NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, major race track ownership groups and operators of historic short tracks.