Just a test one which page this is

Page is - media

Sign me up to receive the latest and greatest from the NASCAR Hall of Fame

News Detail
All Press  >  Press Detail

Nominees Announced For Inaugural NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction

Source: NASCAR   

July 02, 2009

25-Person List Includes Petty, Pearson, Earnhardt, France Sr. and France Jr.

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) announced today a history-rich list of 25 nominees for the inaugural NASCAR Hall of Fame induction class. From that list, five inductees will be chosen via a process that includes a nationwide fan vote on NASCAR.COM; the inductees will be announced in October and honored next May at the new Hall of Fame facility in Charlotte, N.C.

The nominees, which include many of the sport’s legendary names, were selected by a 21-person nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks.

“This first list of potential inductees is impressive, to say the least,” said NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France. “Now comes the hard part – choosing only five to be inducted. Every single person on this list is worthy to be in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.”

The HOF’s first inductees will be determined by the Voting Panel, which has 50 members – the entire Nominating Committee, 14 media members, four manufacturer representatives, nine retired competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs – three each) and two recognized industry leaders. In addition, the fan vote will result in the Voting Panel’s 51st and final ballot.

Following are the 25 individuals who have been nominated:

- Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
- Buck Baker, first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
- Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949
- Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
- Dale Earnhardt, won record seven NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
- Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
- Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
- Bill France Jr., NASCAR president, chairman and CEO (1972-2003)
- Bill France Sr., NASCAR founder and first president  (1948-1972)
- Rick Hendrick, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
- Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
- Junior Johnson, 50 wins as a driver, 132 wins and six championships as an owner
- Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
- Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
- Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
- David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
- Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
- Richard Petty, 200 wins and seven NASCAR Sprint Cup titles – both records
- Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
- Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and ‘53
- Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"
- Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
- Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
- Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
- Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78