Just a test one which page this is

Page is - media

Sign me up to receive the latest and greatest from the NASCAR Hall of Fame

News Detail
All Press  >  Press Detail

NASCAR Drivers Rappel 10 Stories for ‘Over the Edge’ Benefitting Local Children

September 21, 2018

‘Over the Edge' NASCAR Foundation and NASCAR Hall of Fame Foundation Fundraising Event Benefits Local Children

WHAT: Media are invited to attend Charlotte’s first “Over the Edge” two-day rappelling fundraising event to support education and healthcare services for economically challenged children in the Charlotte region. The event will begin with an opening ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 25, before a group of NASCAR drivers and local personalities rappel 10 stories down. The public can participate in “Over the Edge” on Wednesday, Sept. 26, and are encouraged to register in advance at www.CharlotteOvertheEdge.org. Onsite registration and donations will be accepted. Participants must raise a minimum of $1,000 to earn a spot in the rappelling lineup.

Lesa France Kennedy, ISC CEO/NASCAR Vice Chairperson
Rusty Wallace, NASCAR Hall of Famer
Bubba Wallace, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver
Ryan Blaney, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver
Matt DiBenedetto, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver
Steve Phelps, Chief Operating Officer, NASCAR
Winston Kelley, Executive Director, NASCAR Hall of Fame
Nichole Krieger, Executive Director, The NASCAR Foundation

Tuesday, Sept. 25: 12:30 – 2:45 p.m. (media should arrive for check-in by 11:45 a.m.)
*Media availability following completion of VIP rappels*

Rappel Time


12:30 PM

Event Kick-off at NASCAR Hall of Fame Plaza

1:00 PM

Lesa France Kennedy

Rusty Wallace

1:15 PM

Bubba Wallace

Winston Kelley

1:30 PM

Peter Intermaggio, Chief Marketing Officer, Comcast

Steve Phelps

1:45 PM

Greg Walter, EVP, Charlotte Motor Speedway

Tom Murray, CRVA CEO

2:30 PM

Ryan Blaney

Kim Coon, MRN Radio personality and Glass Case of Emotion podcast co-host

2:45 PM

Gary Crotty, Chief Legal Officer, NASCAR

Nichole Krieger


Matt DiBenedetto



Alex Hayden, MRN Radio personality


3:30 PM

Ben Kennedy, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series General Manager



Wednesday, Sept. 26: 1:00 – 4:00 p.m. (media should arrive for check-in by 12:30 p.m.)

Rappel Time


1:00 PM

Champ the Cheetah, NASCAR Hall of Fame mascot

Chase, The NASCAR Foundation mascot 

1:25 PM

Chubby, Charlotte Checkers mascot 

Jeremy Clements, NASCAR Xfinity Series driver

1:35 PM

Myatt Snider, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver


3:25 PM

Chris Buescher, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver


*Media availability following completion of VIP rappels*

WHERE: Embassy Suites Uptown Charlotte, 401 East Martin Luther King Boulevard, Charlotte

PARKING: Media in marked vehicles are welcome to park in bus lane next to Buffalo Wild Wings on Brevard Street. You are also welcome to park in the NASCAR Hall of Fame parking deck. Both are based on space availability.

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing Inc. (NASCAR) established The NASCAR Foundation in January 2006 to support initiatives that positively affect the lives of children throughout the United States. The 501(c)(3) non-profit entity partners with medical experts and other charitable organizations to fund children’s health care programs. The NASCAR Foundation has cumulatively donated more than $32 million to reach more than one million children. For more information on The NASCAR Foundation, please visit: NASCARFoundation.org. Follow The NASCAR Foundation on Facebook at Facebook.com/NASCARFoundation.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to provide economically challenged students (pre-K through 12th grade) access to learning opportunities at the NASCAR Hall of Fame that harness our sport’s longstanding tradition of winning through innovation. We work to ensure those students have a competitive edge that best equips them for life and drives their future success. We currently serve 17,000+ students annually and reach 64 counties in North and South Carolina, along with nine additional states and Canada.