Just a test one which page this is

Page is - media

Sign me up to receive the latest and greatest from the NASCAR Hall of Fame

News Detail
All Press  >  Press Detail

Second NASCAR Hall of Fame Class to be Announced October 13

September 23, 2010

For Immediate Release

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 22, 2010) – The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) has announced that “Voting Day” for the second class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame will be Wednesday, Oct. 13 at the hall, in Charlotte, N.C. NASCAR broadcast partner SPEED will carry the announcement of the second class live at 4 p.m. ET. The public is invited to attend, with purchase of a NASCAR Hall of Fame general admission ticket.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, consisting of members of the Nominating Committee, will meet in a closed session to deliberate and vote on the 25 candidates eligible for this second class. The vote will be followed by a press conference announcing the five new inductees that will join the inaugural class of 2010, which consisted of NASCAR drivers Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson and Richard Petty, as well as NASCAR pioneers Bill France Sr. and Bill France Jr.

The class will be chosen from the 53 votes cast by the panel and the nationwide fan vote – which ends Sept. 26 – conducted through NASCAR.COM. The accounting firm of Ernst & Young will preside over the tabulation of the votes.

The second class will consist of five members and is scheduled to be enshrined in May 2011.

The nominees, which include many of the sport’s legendary names and were announced in July, include: Bobby Allison, Buck Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Richie Evans, Tim Flock, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Dale Inman, Ned Jarrett, Fred Lorenzen, Bud Moore, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, David Pearson, Lee Petty, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Herb Thomas, Curtis Turner, Darrell Waltrip, Joe Weatherly, Glen Wood and Cale Yarborough.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame broke ground in Charlotte on Jan. 25, 2007 and opened on May 11 of this year. The facility honors the history and heritage of NASCAR and individuals who have contributed to the success of NASCAR.

For more information, contact:

Ramsey Poston, NASCAR Public Relations, (386) 310-6030 or rposton@nascar.com.