Race Week Hours: The Hall will be open from 10 AM - 6 PM on May 23-27 and opens at 9 AM on Saturday, May 25.
Plan Your Visit

Opens at 10am


Opens at 10am


Opens at 10am

Glory Road: 75 Years

Curated to reflect NASCAR’s rich, deep and wide 75-year history.



33-Degrees of banking


685+ Premier Series Race Wins
50+ NASCAR Championships
7 Decades
7 NASCAR Divisions


January 14, 2023

Plan a Visit

Explore 75 Years of History

In recognition of NASCAR’s 75th anniversary, the fifth edition of Glory Road will pay tribute to the people, cars and moments that have shaped our sport from the early days of racing to present day. Follow @NASCARHall on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter as we offer up first looks at some of the vehicles that will take their place along Glory Road: 75 Years.

Glory Road: 75 Years is officially open to the public.

Car: 1998 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Team/Owner: Dale Earnhardt Inc./Dale Earnhardt

Lender: Darrell Waltrip

  • Darrell Waltrip was recruited by once bitter rival Dale Earnhardt.
  • After Steve Park’s injury, Waltrip filled in for 13 races.
  • Waltrip had one top-five and two top-10s with Dale Earnhardt Inc.

Car: 2022 Ford Mustang

Team/Owner: Team Penske/Roger Penske

Lender: Team Penske

  • This is the first NASCAR Next Gen car to appear in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.
  • This car won the 2022 Daytona 500 with Austin Cindric. He was the first rookie to win Daytona 500 since 2011.
  • Cindric was Team Penske’s third driver to win Daytona 500.

Car: 1981 Pontiac Grand Prix

Team/Owner: Osterlund Racing/Rod Osterlund

Lender: Bill Rhine

  • After winning a title in 1980, Dale Earnhardt changed teams midway through ’81.
  • The 1981 season was the only one in which Earnhardt drove Pontiacs.
  • This was his first full season with Wrangler sponsorship.

Car: 1976 Chevrolet Laguna

Team/Owner: Richard Childress Racing/Richard Childress

Lender: Richard Childress Racing

  • Richard Childress competed in 285 premier series races as a driver.
  • In 1976, Childress posted three top-10 finishes in the first four races.
  • Childress went on to win six championships as a team owner for Dale Earnhardt.

Car: 2019 Toyota Camry

Team/Owner: Joe Gibbs Racing/Joe Gibbs

Lender: Joe Gibbs Racing

  • In 2019 Joe Gibbs won his fifth premier series owner championship.
  • Joe Gibbs Racing Toyotas won 19 of 36 premier series races in 2019.
  • Kyle Busch won two driver championships while with Gibbs.

Car: 1961 Ford Sunliner

Team/Owner: Wood Brothers Racing/Glen Wood

Lender: Wood Brothers Racing

  • The Convertible Division was one of many different series run by NASCAR over the years.
  • NASCAR also had series for open-wheel cars, compacts, muscle cars and sports cars.
  • Wood Brothers driver Curtis Turner won 38 of 79 Convertible Division races he entered.

Car: 1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Team/Owner: Hendrick Motorsports/Rick Hendrick

Lender: Hendrick Motorsports

  • Jeff Gordon became the youngest champion in NASCAR’s Modern Era in 1995.
  • From 1995 to 1999 this chassis, No. 2411, won 12 premier series races and six poles.
  • Gordon’s success led to a new youth movement in NASCAR.

Car: 2014 Toyota Tundra

Team/Owner: Kyle Busch Motorsports/Kyle Busch

Lender: Kyle Busch Motorsports

  • In 2013 Bubba Wallace became the first Black driver to win a NASCAR National Series race since Wendell Scott in 1963.
  • Wallace won the 2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway with a Scott-themed special paint scheme.
  • In 40 career Truck Series starts, Wallace won six times.

Car: 2003 Toyota Celica

Team/Owner: Robert Huffman

Lender: Toyota Museum

  • Robert Huffman was hired to drive a Toyota Celica in the Goody’s Dash Series in 2001.
  • Huffman gave Toyota its first NASCAR race victory and its first championship.
  • Huffman won five Goody’s Dash Series titles.

Car: 1977 Ford Pinto

Team/Owner: Jerry Cook

Lender: Jerry Cook

  • Launched at Daytona Beach in 1948, Modified Division still races today.
  • Northeast states were historical Modified stronghold.
  • Jerry Cook won six Modified Division championships.

Car: 1972 Dodge Charger

Team/Owner: Petty Enterprises

Lender: Petty Museum

  • Five of Richard Petty’s record seven titles were won in the 1970s.
  • Petty won consecutive championships for the first time in 1972.
  • STP Day-Glo Red was added to the iconic Petty Blue for the first time.

Car: 1991 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Team/Owner: Labonte Motorsports/Bobby Labonte

Lender: Bobby Labonte

  • Bobby Labonte (2020) won the NASCAR Busch Grand National driver title in 1991.
  • Labonte was also a premier series championship crewman in ’84 and a BGN-winning owner in 1994.
  • In 2000, Labonte won the premier series driver championship.

Car: 2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Team/Owner: Petty Enterprises/Richard Petty

Lender: Petty Museum

  • Adam Petty followed his father, grandfather and great-grandfather into NASCAR.
  • Petty made his NASCAR Busch Grand National Series debut at age 18.
  • Petty competed in 11 races in 2000 before perishing in a crash.

Car: 2021 Dodge Challenger

Team/Owner: Dumoulin Competition/Marc-Andre Bergeron

Lender: WeatherTech Canada

  • L.P. Dumoulin is a three-time champion in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series in Canada.
  • Dumoulin has 11 race victories and 67 top fives in the Pinty’s Series.
  • In addition to Canada, NASCAR also operates series in Europe and Mexico.

Car: 2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Team/Owner: Hendrick Motorsports/Rick Hendrick

Lender Hendrick Motorsports

  • Driver Jimmie Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus won seven championships together.
  • From 2006 to 2010, Johnson won a record five straight premier series titles.
  • In 2003, Johnson swept the NASCAR All-Star Race and the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte.

Car: 2000 Ford F-150

Team/Owner: Roush Racing/Jack Roush

Lender: Roush Automotive Collection

  • Team owner Jack Roush was willing to give drivers their first big breaks.
  • Most Roush drivers were hired with little or no NASCAR experience.
  • Greg Biffle was first Roush driver to win a NASCAR championship.

Car: 2013 Chevrolet SS

Team/Owner: Hendrick Motorsports/Rick Hendrick

Lender: Bill Rhine

  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. won 15 NASCAR Most Popular Driver Awards.
  • Earnhardt Jr. won 26 premier series races, including two Daytona 500s.
  • He successfully transitioned from the cockpit to the broadcast booth.

Car: 2020 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Team/Owner: JR Motorsports/Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kelley Earnhardt Miller, Rick Hendrick

Lender: JR Motorsports

  • Driving for JR Motorsports, Josh Berry won the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series championship in 2020.
  • Berry won the title in his 11th season of late-model racing.
  • Berry was promoted by JR Motorsports to the NASCAR Xfinity Series, where he finished fourth in points in 2022.
Plan a visit to the NASCAR Hall of Fame to see Glory Road: 75 Years.

Related Blog Posts